Roles are one of the building blocks of managing a Discord server. They give your members a fancy color, but more importantly, each role comes with a set of permissions that control what your members can and cannot do in the server. With roles, you can give members and bots administrative permissions like kicking or banning members, adding or removing channels, and pinging @everyone.
You can find these options in the Roles section of your Server Settings.
Assign permissions with care! Certain permissions allow members to make changes to your server and channels. These permissions are a great moderation tool, but be wary of who you grant this power to. Changes made to your server can’t be undone.
Server verification levels allow you to control who can send messages in your server. Setting a high verification level is a great way to protect your server from spammers or raids. You can find this option in the Safety Setup section of your Server Settings.
When enabled, server-wide two-factor authentication (2FA) requires all of your moderators and administrators to have 2FA enabled on their accounts in order to take administrative actions, like deleting messages. You can read more about 2FA here.
By requiring all admin accounts to have 2FA turned on, you protect your server from malicious users who might try to compromise one of your moderators' or administrators' accounts and then make unwanted changes to your server. If you are the server owner, you can enable the 2FA requirement for moderation in the Safety Setup section of your Server Settings.
You must have 2FA enabled on your own account before you can enable this option!
The Explicit Media Content Filter automatically detects and deletes images and uploads deemed explicit. Age-restricted channels are exempt from the Explicit Media Content Filter. Turning this filter on allows your server members to share content like images and embeds, while reducing the risk of explicit media being posted in channels that are not age-restricted.
You can find this option in the Safety Setup section of your Server Settings.